Another step away from my lovely XP

August 5, 2006

As you can see in my previous post; I told you that

A lot of thing are coming into my mind. They deserve to be in my blog.

Now they are. As stated in the title, I’m now moving another step away from Windows. Don’t be confused! I’m not at all hating Windows. I’m just getting more and more good feeling with Open Source software. You might say, “you work with OpenSource, so you never like Microsoft”. Say it! I don’t mind.πŸ˜‰

Let’s come to what I want you to know. Ok, here is it…

kflickr

It’s Ubuntu? No. It’s an application that always make me switch to Windows everytime I want to upload picture to my flickr account.

As most of you know already, flickr is a very famous digital photo sharing website. We can upload our picture and use them in other website by linking to the URL of the picture (just like I used here). To make it more easier, flickr provided an uploader application which can be installed and run in our computer. Unfortunately, that application works only in Windows (as far as I know). This is a pain for me since I’m not staying too much with Windows. I have to switch to my Windows XP to be able to upload my favorite pictures. Actually, we can also upload via website but most of the time it did not work for me. flickr looks not so friendly to my Konqueror. I have to use Firefox instead.

As you can see above, I was in Ubuntu. So yes, I was in Linux. By using Kflickr, I can now upload any picture to my flickr account from my favorite Linux operating system (now there are 3: SUSE, Ubuntu and Kubuntu).

You may still not believe. Ok, let’s see inside my flickr account…

my_flickr

12 Responses to “Another step away from my lovely XP”

  1. singachea Says:

    OpenSource is good, but I have to be a slave of Windows while my courses are in progress. I will try Linux a bit deeper for next semester.

  2. hamza Says:

    ubuntu is just awesome

  3. vanndeth Says:

    write more, it is really new to me..

  4. soben Says:

    singachea, just take it easy.

    hamza, nice to see you here. Oh, also thank for adding my blog to yours. I knew your blog through Google. Your blog stand at the 1st position, while I was searching for “design logo inkscape”.

    vanndeth, also nice to see you. I’ll try to write as much as possible.


  5. how to get the soft for install? i am interesting in open source as well…

  6. soben Says:

    Sounds good Khmerbird. You can ask the CD from KhmerOS project. If you want, you can also ask directly from Ubuntu via its free shipping.

  7. rong Says:

    i was wondering in http://www.launchpad.net i see u had translate ubuntu to khmer, does it work on Kubuntu or not?

  8. soben Says:

    rong! Neither Ubuntu nor Kubuntu was translated to Khmer. What was translated is KDE. Since Kubuntu use KDE as its desktop environment, you will be able to make some part of it translated. But please remember that Kubuntu has also its own application. So those application will not translated.

    As far as I know, KhmerOS project planned to make all part of Kubuntu translated to Khmer. If nothing changes, we will get the next release of Kubuntu translated to Khmer.

  9. sousdey Says:

    I’ve no idea what you’re talking about, mate. I’m so clueless when it comes to this technology stuffπŸ™‚

  10. kenno Says:

    Hey, Soben! Thanks for introducing this kewl app. I’m installing it now.πŸ™‚

  11. soben Says:

    Nice to hear that Kenno.

    You seem to be getting so fast with Linux stuff.


  12. we are converted linux ubuntu users. Open source software saving us from the clutches of microsoft!


Leave a Reply

